ScrumGenius Product Update: Disk Encryption and Custom Data Retention Periods

Product Update: Disk Encryption and Custom Data Retention Periods

Product Updates2 min read

Published on July 22nd, 2019.

As of July 17, all of ScrumGenius’ data is now encrypted on disk with the industry-standard AES-256 encryption algorithm, so you can rest assured that your information is safe and secure.

Update Features

  • Industry-standard AES-256 encryption on disk
  • Custom data retention policies to suit your company

New Data Encryption Policies

All of your data is fully encrypted, including both data in transit and data on the disk such as automated backups, snapshots and database logs. We also have site-wide SSL to make sure your information is doubly secure every step of the way.

Everything else is the same; your standup details are still stored in a secure database behind a firewall that only select servers can access, so external sources can’t reach any of its information.

We use a Key Management Service to manage the master keys that encrypt your data. These keys are in turn protected by Hardware Security Modules that are validated by the FIPS 140-2 Cryptographic Module Validation Program.

Custom Data Retention Settings

ScrumGenius recognizes that many companies have specific data retention policies they have to follow, and that these often limit the applications their teams can use. So now, we’ve rolled out the ability to choose the amount of time we retain your data in order to best suit your needs.

By default, we retain your team’s standup data as long as your account is active. But if you wish to better control the amount of data we store, you can apply a retention policy to your team to remove standup answers after a certain time via Team Settings.

ScrumGenius set custom data retention policy

Easily choose how long you want data to be stored on our servers.

Based on the requirements laid out in this custom retention period, your chosen standup answers and reports will be removed from our database. It’s important to note that once this data has been deleted, it can’t be restored, so it might be a good idea to save a copy to your own personal records if you need to.

To learn more about our security policies, including what data we store, visit our support page.